Saturday, April 26, 2014

Neil Young's A Letter Home

Less than a week after Third Man Records sold out Neil Young's new, ultra lo-fi album of covers, Reprise has announced it will re-release it again, so that the masses can get on it this time. Apart from the standard vinyl and CD editions, there will also be a limited edition box set, which will include:

  • Standard audio LP pressed on 180-gram black vinyl
  • Audiophile LP pressed on 180-gram black vinyl (direct feed from the booth)
  • Standard audio CD
  • DVD with footage from the recording
  • 12" x 12", 32-page full color booklet
  • Seven 6" vinyl discs pressed on clear vinyl. The 7th disc of this set features a version of Bob Dylan's Blowin' In The Wind backed with an alternate take/arrangement of Crazy 
  • Download card for the hi-res Audiophile version

An excerpt from the official press release:
Young recorded the collection of covers with (Jack) White on a refurbished 1947 Voice-O-Graph recording booth at Third Man's Nashville headquarters. Imagine a very simple recording studio not much larger than a phone booth and you'll get the idea. He describes the album as "an unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro-mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever." Recorded live to track to one-track, mono, the album has an inherent warm, primitive feel of a vintage Folkways recording. This is a deeply personal and expressive listening experience which is as real and raw emotionally as it is sonically and yet light of touch in its form and flow.

1. A Letter Home Intro
2. Changes (Phil Ochs)
3. Girl From The North Country (Bob Dylan)
4. Needle Of Death (Bert Jansch)
5. Early Morning Rain (Gordon Lightfoot)
6. Crazy (Willie Nelson)
7. Reason To Believe (Tim Hardin)
8. On The Road Again (Willie Nelson)
9. If You Could Read My Mind (Gordon Lightfoot)
10. Since I Met You Baby (Ivory Joe Hunter)
11. My Hometown (Bruce Springsteen)
12. I Wonder If I Care As Much (Don Everly)

Here is a preview of what the songs will sound like: